• JINR Scientific seminar


  • April 14, 2010, BLTP Conference Hall


  • Scientific paper in "Physical Review Letters"
  • Synthesis of Element 117

    Oganessian Yu. Ts. et al.
    "Synthesis of a new element with atomic number Z=117".
    Phys. Rev. Lett. 104, 142502 (2010)
    download: [ pdf ] (428Kb)

  • Press release

    On 28 February 2010, in the Flerov Laboratory of Nuclear Reactions (FLNR), the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR, Dubna), a long-standing experiment dedicated to the synthesis of the new chemical element with atomic number 117 was successfully completed. The decay properties of the isotopes of element 117 and its daughter products – the isotopes of elements 115, 113, 111, 109, 107 and 105, together with the formerly synthesized in Dubna isotopes of elements 112-116 and 118, are a direct experimental evidence of the existence of the "islands of stability" of superheavy nuclei. The discovery of the superheavy elements considerably expands the limits of the Table of elements; the enhancement of the nuclear stability makes it possible for the first time to explore their unusual physical and chemical properties. The experiments on the synthesis of element 117 were performed on the FLNR heavy ions cyclotron (JINR) in collaboration with the U.S. National Laboratories in Oak Ridge and Livermore, as well as with Vanderbilt University (USA) and the Research Institute of Atomic Reactors (Dimitrovgrad, Russia). A scientific paper, prepared by the authors on the discovery of element 117, has been published in the well-known American journal "Physical Review Letters".
    download: [ Eng] (43Kb) or [ Rus] (74Kb)

  • In December 2015, it was recognized as one of four new elements by the Joint Working Party of international scientific bodies IUPAC and IUPAP.

    IUPAC IUPAC Press Realease dated 30.12.2015.

    "Discovery and assignment of elements with atomic numbers 113, 115, 117 and 118"

    In June 2016, the IUPAC suggested the element name tennessine, symbol Ts. The name is set to be formally accepted by the end of 2016.

    IUPAC IUPAC Press Realease dated 08.06.2016.

    " IUPAC is naming the four new elements nihonium, moscovium, tennessine, and oganesson"

    <<< back